Work

How Many Jobs Have You Had?

AN ABBREVIATED LISTING OF ALL THE JOBS I’VE HAD
(in roughly, not-exactly-chronological order):

DANCE INSTRUCTOR (a rite of passage for all young dancers)
GRILL COOK (I learned what a “Reuben” was)
WAITRESS (I learned how badly one’s feet could hurt)
RECEPTIONIST (reading Charles Bukowski and feeling resentful)
WRITING TUTOR (first job I loved)
LIBRARY REFERENCE ASST (reshelving books then napping in the stacks)
JANITOR (cleaning a dentist’s office is weird)
RECEPTIONIST (reading Toni Morrison and feeling resentful)
WAITRESS (low-budget resort town)
CLERICAL INDENTURED SERVANT (multiple summers = “indentured”)
WAREHOUSE DISPATCH (“Truck 26, pick up 8 pallets of bananas.”)
WAITRESS (greasy spoon for the geriatric set)
RETAIL SALES CLERK (some people are good in retail… not me.)
AUSTIN CITY LIMITS PRODUCTION INTERN (2nd job I ever loved, most exciting ever)
FARM AID PRODUCTION OFFICE MGR (I met Roseanne, Neil Young and Johnny Cash)
SXSW PRODUCTION MANAGER’S ASST (I learned how important all musicians are)
WAITRESS (redneck BBQ joint)
TRAVEL REVIEWER (eating, drinking and writing about it)
BOAT RESTORER (breathing noxious chemicals in freezing weather)
INSURANCE CLAIMS ADJUSTER (I lasted one week)
CLERICAL TEMP (reading Rilke and feeling resentful)
TOUR MANAGER’S ASST (“Sorry about the shitey motel accommodations, guys!”)
FILM CASTING ASST (least like work, most visiting with friends)
RECEPTIONIST (reading Annie Dillard and feeling resentful)
PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO MGR (photographers are… interesting)
COMMUNITY RADIO STATION MGR (a job I loved, despite a high quotient of crazy)
MAID (adventures in housekeeping!)
WAITRESS (best coffeehouse ever)
BARISTA (same coffeehouse, better job)
UNITED WAY SPEAKERS AND TOURS COORDINATOR (fancy title = schedule-keeper)
WAITRESS (by this point we are called “servers”)
BARTENDER (by this point we are called “yes, ma’am”)
ART MUSEUM DEVELOPMENT OFFICE MGR (fancy title = office gofer)
TEXTILE ART STUDIO ASST (another job I loved, for the best boss ever)

FROM HERE DOWN, MENTALLY INSERT “FREELANCE” BEFORE EACH JOB TITLE.
(Then, mentally subtract 40-85% from the amount you imagine I got paid for said work.)

THEATRICAL COSTUMER
NONPROFIT GRANT WRITER
DANCE COMPANY OUTREACH COORDINATOR
THEATRICAL TOUR TECH COORDINATOR
YOGA INSTRUCTOR
CHOREOGRAPHER AND PRODUCER (a.k.a. My Life’s Work)
PRODUCTION COMPANY ARTISTIC DIRECTOR (a.k.a. My Love’s Work)
EVENT PRODUCER
MAGAZINE COPY EDITOR AND PROOFREADER
WRITER
RESUME CONSULTANT
ORGANIZER

The last 5 are jobs that I still do, simultaneously, to subsidize My Life’s and My Love’s. Feast and famine, left- and right-brain, windfalls and dry spells … and crazy tax rates.

20140213-152245.jpg
Image courtesy of Cirque du Soleil

Leave a Reply

